Walmart’s Ammo Situation

Posted: August 25, 2013 in .223 / 5.56, Ammunition
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ll be honest, its been quite a while since I shopped locally for ammo.  I tried for a long time to check every time I was in town at my local shops, but I eventually got sick of checking.  The availability hasn’t improved as much as I predicted it would just a few months ago.

Today, after I dropped my fiance off at work at 6am, I decided to get our groceries for the week.  The place was deserted and I had a lot of spare time, so I decided to just browse a little.  Out of sheer curiosity I walked through the sporting goods section and was surprised to see they had reduced the size of their ammo cabinet by half.  One side now contains all the ammo that used to take up both halves, while the other side has been replaced with airsoft guns.

The side that had the ammo was barren and looked like it had been neglected for a while.  But there . . . right there on top was fifteen boxes of Tula .223!  Not only did they have some .223 but they had my favorite brand.  They were only $5.27 a box so I went ahead and bought my limit of 3.

Unfortunately it looked like most other calibers were pretty thin.  Each had pretty much one brand to choose from so it looks like Walmart still isn’t the best place to shop for ammo.  I would imagine local gun shops have a better selection now but I haven’t checked for a while and probably wont for some time still.

Hopefully I can get back to the range this weekend and blow through what I just bought.  I need to get some practice in and now I have some spare ammo to play with.  What is the ammo situation in the rest of the country?  Is it improving at all or is everyone still forced to buy their stuff online?  I’ve been away for far too long so let me know in the comments please.

Leave a Reply

