My Local Range Has Closed

Posted: August 20, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I received a letter in the mail a few weeks back letting me know that my local shooting range, to which I was a member, was closing its doors.  They were kind enough to reimburse me for the remaining time left on my membership but nevertheless it was pretty sad to hear.

I hadn’t been going as much lately with all the changes in my life, so maybe their closing was partly my fault.  Maybe it was the ammo craze that drove gun owners everywhere to hoard ammo instead of using it.  Maybe it was the economy.  I don’t know.

What I do know is that I will now have to travel at least 45 minutes any time I want to shoot at an actual range.  My dad’s house is only 15 minutes away and I can shoot there whenever I want, but sometimes an actual range is just much better.

If you’re lucky enough to have a range in your area, get out there and show them your support.  Let them know you want them to stay around and that you find what they have to offer very enriching.  And spread the good word to other gun owners so that business can improve.  If the ranges all close and we have nowhere to shoot out guns, how will we maintain our shooting skills?  For some of us, living in isolated rural areas just isn’t an option.

Comments
  1. Don’t forget to support your local range when there are attempts to close them down through “noise ordnances” as well. My home town range was started in 1943 and regularly has to respond to complaints from housing developments that were erected in the late 1980s and early 1990s (They somehow missed the illuminated 8′ by 12′ sign on the main highway when looking for houses to purchase). Fortunately, with a 3500+ membership and several events each year that fill all the hotels in town we have some leverage. Most ranges don’t have that level of support so make very effort to pack those town hearings when moves are afoot to close down your favourite range.

    • Thanks for the comment. Glad your range is still going strong. And that’s definitely a good idea to go to town meetings to support your range. Hopefully other people do the same thing in their communities.

  2. Ldishman says:

    Wouldn’t it be great if there was a national chain of ranges/gun stores…like other places? Be a member and be able to shoot all over? Too bad it is so unPC to be a gun owner these days.
    Imagine a Gun Best Buy…with attached ranges…dozens in every state…
    Oh well…nice to dream.

    • Actually that sounds fantastic. It would be great. My guess is it would already exist (there’s plenty of money to be had) if it weren’t so hard to get cities and towns to allow people to build ranges. But man it would be so cool. 🙂

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

