Favorite Recreational Firearms

Posted: April 4, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last week I ran a poll on my blog (its posted below as well to continue the voting) that asked what your favorite type of gun was for recreational shooting.  The choices were handguns, rifles, or shotguns.  At the end of the week there were a total of 30 votes, making it the one with the most votes so far.  Handguns won by far with 18 votes.  Rifles were next with 11 votes.  Shotguns brought up the rear with one lonely vote.

I honestly thought that rifles would have had the most, even though I personally prefer handguns as well.  The reason I thought rifles would be the favorite is because there has been such a fus lately about ARs and tactical rifles.  .223 ammo had been impossible to find for a while, so I just naturally assumed that people were more interested in shooting rifles.  But it seems I may have been wrong.

The reason I prefer handguns is just because they’re smaller and less cumbersome than a rifle. You can load up 2 or 3 pistols and head to the range for the same effort as one rifle. Ammo is smaller and generally less expensive. Rifles are fun as well, don’t get me wrong, but I just love taking my Ruger SR22 to the range and blasting through a bunch of 22s.

Here’s the poll again (over on the right) in case you didn’t get a chance to vote before I pulled it down. Let me know in the comments why you voted the way you did. What makes you prefer a handgun over a rifle or vice versa? Is it convenience or something else? Do you prefer the tactical applications your AR brings, or are you more of a Glock aficionado? Lets get the debate rolling!

Also, be sure to vote in this weeks poll (over on the left) to be part of next week’s discussion.

Leave a Reply

