How Often Do You Practice?

Posted: March 28, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The poll I ran last week asked the question, “How often do you practice? (Dry-fire exercises included)”.  There were 21 votes during the week it was posted and the results were pretty much what I expected.

11 people voted that they practiced weekly, 5 voted for monthly, and 5 voted for other answers.  The results would seem to indicate that the majority of people practice every week or every month.  That’s about where I’m at as well; I usually get to practice every two weeks or so.

I’ve mentioned this before in a few older posts:  Shooting is a skill that fades quickly when you don’t practice.  Taking only a few weeks off can significantly impact your results.  Shooting a gun is much like riding a bike because you’ll never forget how to do it.  But its also like bowling because it requires precision and consistency.  When you don’t practice, it takes longer to get built back up.  You can’t stay on top of your game without practice.

I’m not suggesting you practice every day.  Who could afford the ammo for that anyway?  I do think everyone should practice though.  Its essential in order to maintain your shooting skills.  Enough time off makes you forget even the basics.  Re-learning them is almost as hard the second time as it was the first time and that’s why my current bowling average is 40 pins less than in was 3 years ago.

So this weekend (its supposed to be very nice if you live in VA or surrounding areas) get out there and practice.  I know you’ve been hoarding ammo since The Great Ammo Drought of 2013 began and so have I.  Since ammo is returning to the shelves and becoming available again finally, its time we get back out there and refine those skills we’ve worked so hard to attain!

What are your thoughts on this issue?  How often do you practice and why?  Do you think everyone should practice every day or every week?  At what point do you start losing what you’ve learned?  I’m interested to hear other peoples’ experiences on this.

Comments
  1. Brian says:

    For me, my rifle skills stay intact as long as I practice a few times a year. My pistol skills dwindle to hell if I don’t practice at least once per month. My G23 has Crimson Trace grips and is my home protection gun. The laser does help but oddly enough I have friends who don’t like them. I try to get out and practice but life is life and often other things get in the way.

    • I’ve heard a lot of people say that using a laser on a handgun actually hurts your skills because you come to rely on it when using the weapon. Much like the people I know who can’t use iron sights because they spent their whole lives using a high powered scope. Regardless of what accessories you have you still need to practice. Otherwise your skills will, as you so eloquently put it, “dwindle to hell”. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

