Urban Survival Day 32 – Figure Out if Someone is Armed

Posted: March 27, 2013 in Survival/Self Defense
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been getting behind with these updates.  I’m trying to keep up but things have gotten crazy for me lately.  Regardless, I’m doing what I can so I hope you understand.  I will be posting two tonight and two tomorrow as well to make up for the missed posts.  Moving on . . .

32)  Figure Out if Someone is Armed

Some people carry their weapons well and some do not.  There are obvious signs on those who carry badly.  Any blog or forum anywhere that tries to explain how to properly carry concealed points out the things to avoid.  Some people just refuse to listen to good advice.  Well here’s some advice on how to spot those fools:

Beware The Bulge:  Most criminals don’t have holsters for their weapons.  They don’t spend money anywhere they don’t have to, and they certainly don’t train themselves to be better.  Tucking a handgun in their waistband is good enough for most of them.  In cases like that there is often a bulge.  Look for the bulge and be careful around these people.  Some may well be poorly prepared law abiding citizens just trying to protect themselves.  But they may also be criminals about to rob you or someone else.

Study Body Language:  Many people who are concealing a weapon are always aware of its presence.  If not well trained, they may worry about being spotted.  They will likely be touching the spot where their weapon is concealed to ensure its still out of sight.  I was guilty of this myself when I first started carrying.

Trust Your Spidey Sense:  “A guy who’s wearing a trench coat on a hot day may have the flu.  Or he may be carrying a gun under that coat”.  Basically just pay attention.  If someone is acting strange or appears out of place, they are probably up to no good.

Does anyone else have any tips to help spot someone who’s carrying a concealed weapon?  There are many blogs and forums that cover this but I would like to see what my readers themselves think.  Surely we can come up with a few things.  Let me know what you think in the comments below.

As always, I want to remind everyone that this post is a combination of my personal opinions and information that was provided in the book, Urban Survival Guide, by Rich Johnson.  Always avoid dangerous situations when you can and never attempt to confront an attacker unless your life or anyone else’s life is in danger.

Comments
  1. […] Urban Survival Day 32 – Figure Out if Someone is Armed […]

  2. […] Urban Survival Day 32 – Figure Out if Someone is Armed […]

  3. vince says:

    Nonsense blog. Considering the size of most new phones and people wearing them on their belt because they are too big to put in a pocket, means your view is wrong. Your list sucks.

    • Just because there are other things, like a cell phone, on a person’s hip doesn’t mean a gun is not. Assuming that bulge at their waist is a cell phone every time is foolish at best. Sorry you feel the list is “wrong” but I believe others would agree with me that the list contains good indications to whether or not someone may be carrying a weapon.

  4. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run
    into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement? My
    site has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement. Do you know any techniques to help reduce content from being ripped off? I’d definitely appreciate it.

    • I would take it as a compliment if someone tried to pass off something I wrote as their own. It means they really liked what they read. But no, I don’t really have that problem yet. If I was being paid for this I would certainly be more worried, but right now I just post to share my thoughts and ideas. If I were you I would put a copyright notice at the bottom of each post or something like that.

Leave a Reply

