Urban Survival Day 19 – Foil A Pickpocket

Posted: March 12, 2013 in Survival/Self Defense
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

We’ve all seen it in the movies before – Pickpocketing.  It’s even a skill in video games like Skyrim (a game I believe all humans should play at least once).  Good guys often use it to gather intelligence or to show how skillful they are, but its primarily a skill that’s displayed in criminals.

19)  Foil A Pickpocket

We all worry about them at some time or another.  Walking through a crowded mall or airport can really be an awful experience for some people.  Not only are there too many people to account for, there’s almost no way to spot a good pickpocket in that kind of setting.  The book’s recommendation for dealing with pickpockets is basically just to avoid everyone in public places.  The reason there are so many news stories and videos on youtube of people not helping others is because they have an attitude like this:

“Be wary of diversions such as a person falling down or causing a commotion.  And sure, the street musician sounds great, but he might have a partner working the crowd.  Likewise, never assume a panhandler is alone.”

Sure, none of us want to be victims and I get that.  But what kind of society have we become where we can’t take 30 seconds to help someone in need?  Are we really that busy?  Are we that afraid?  Not to steal from today’s tip, but this really irritates me.  We’ve become a nation that will sue anyone for anything.  We’ll also kill for pretty much the same reasons:

“Americans murder with everything — with cars, with knives, with frozen fish — whatever’s at hand, we’ll kill a mother****** with it, because he needed killing and we’re a nation of go-getters.” – Robert Brockway

Anyway, the only useful advice the book gives us for pickpockets is this: “Avoid theft by keeping your wallet in a front pocket rather than a rear one.  If a person bumps into you, immediately make sure you still have your valuables”.  I actually do that.  I have a wallet designed specifically to be used in the front pocket (normal pockets are not comfortable in most front pants pockets) because of past back problems.  If I bump into someone, I first take a second to make sure they’re ok, then pat my pockets to make sure everything is still where it was.

Anyway, I’m sure someone else can take a minute or two and share a story about how they’ve helped someone in the past.  I’ve helped strangers before.  I’m sure we all have.  Why don’t we take a moment or two and share with each other to help remind us that not everyone is out there to rape or rob us.  I’ll share a story or two of mine if someone else does as well.

Comments
  1. livetoseetomorrow says:

    Stopped and picked up a person who ran out of gas.

    • nvchad2 says:

      That was awfully nice of you. I once saw man breathing hard and leaning against a wall while I was walking down the sidewalk. I asked him if he was ok and he said he had chest pains. I called 911 and waited with him until the ambulance arrived. He was very nice and thanked me as they were loading him into the ambulance. I saw him again about a week later walking down the same sidewalk so he was evidently ok in the end.

      • livetoseetomorrow says:

        For me I saw an old mexican walking with a gas can I gave him a ride to the gas station then assumed i was giving him a ride back to his car he didnt speak english very well so I gave him a ride back once he filled his gas can come to find out he lived about a mile from the gas station and he was walking there to get gas for his lawnmower. oh well he handed me a couple beers for my time because i wouldnt take his money and off i went

      • nvchad2 says:

        At least you helped him out. Very few people would do that now days. Sounds like he still appreciated what you did. Thanks for sharing.

  2. […] tip may go along with how to foil a pickpocket as well.  Some criminals may not accept that you have no wallet when they attempt to rob you. […]

Leave a Reply

