So I’m sure you’ve probably heard of The Walking Dead.  Its this TV show that is based off a series of comics.  If you don’t know, and can’t tell from the name, its about zombies.  Its supposed to be about how people survive and live during a zombie apocalypse.  Its in its 3rd season right now.

And its not living up to its potential.

I don’t watch it because it’s a good show; I watch it because I really want it to be a good show. Because so far, rather than exploring what shape society will take after the zombie apocalypse, or how real, complicated human beings deal with such an awful scenario, The Walking Dead has been more concerned with what happens when obnoxious cliches from different ethnic backgrounds have to be roommates.

When I first watched this show, the first season, I was so excited.  I bought it and showed everybody.  My mom, my fiance, my coworkers, everyone.  I was so thrilled.  I’m not one of those zombie obsessed people, but I’ve always enjoyed post apocalyptic stories.  Fallout 3 and Fallout: New Vegas are probably two of my favorite video games of all time for that very reason.

When I watch what the show has become now, I get angry and look online for other angry “fans”.  Most people think its bad because its not following the comics 100%.  I’ve never even seen the comics.  I’m just sick of the drama.  Everyone hates everyone else and nobody can get along.  The writers just took and put every human cliche in one small area and said here, go at it.

Don’t believe me?  We have a very religious farmer and his family, a racist backwoods hillbilly, the good cop and the bad cop, a wise old man that wants everyone to get along, a helpless little girl, a reckless little boy who doesn’t listen to his parents, and a woman who gives birth to a baby who’s father is either her husband or his coworker.  Yes, I understand that these are supposed to represent realistic people, but good lord can’t we be creative?

Heck, while I’m writing this I’m watching two groups of humans firing at each other with automatic rifles (and Carl using a pistol to shoot long distance, go figure).  No zombies in sight.  Even though they keep having problems with the zombies breaking into the prison they’re hole up in.  Wait, I’m wrong, one of the Governor’s guys just drove a truck full of zombies into the prison complex.  NOW we have some walking dead again . . .

Anyway, this rant was inspired by something I read over on Cracked.com.  I just miss the Season One Walking Dead.  This could’ve been the show of the decade.  As Robert Brockway says to the show’s writers in the post I linked to, “you were supposed to be making an apocalyptic drama; what you guys did was The Real World: Zombieland.”

Feel free to tell me I’m wrong and that the show is the best thing ever.  I wont agree, but hey, I’m sure you hate things that I like too.  Of course if you agree that the show is less about zombies and more about human on human drama, please leave a comment so I know I’m not alone.

Comments
  1. rmactsc says:

    I enjoyed seasons 1 and 2 but season 3 so far is not very good. I also would have liked it more if they followed the graphic novel series more closely.

    • nvchad2 says:

      You mean the back and forth gang warfare between Rick’s group and the Governor’s isn’t doing it for you? Let me guess, you want to see the people fight zombies for some reason? 🙂 And perhaps its time I find these graphic novels. Everyone seems to like those more than the show anyway.

      • rmactsc says:

        I have the 17 book graphic novel series and am awaiting the next release. They are a good read. Speaking of books; would you mind placing a review for one of my books over at Amazon.com 🙂

      • nvchad2 says:

        Honestly, I would love to leave a review. But I haven’t finished reading. I read the first few pages and then haven’t been able to get back to reading. Not that I didn’t like where it was going, I just can’t sit and read like I used to. I’ll try to read some more of it this week though since you asked so nicely. 🙂

  2. horror4all says:

    Sadly they have never been able to recapture the magic of the first few episodes. Season 3 is starting to get really good and there is so much more potential. I’m going to keep watching it though. Even when a bad episode airs, it’s still better then %95 of TV out there.

    • nvchad2 says:

      That’s true I suppose. Though I can find several shows I would prefer to spend my Sunday nights watching. But if it truly is returning to something decent, maybe I’ll give it another chance. Thanks for commenting.

  3. livetoseetomorrow says:

    wont get to watch season three till they put it on netflix but the first season was damn good the second season was ok so i guess now i wait

    • nvchad2 says:

      This season is getting better. I didn’t want to agree with everyone because I hated the second season so much. Hopefully it continues to improve. There’s really no other shows like it out there.

Leave a Reply

