Don’t Feed (or shoot) The Trolls!

Posted: February 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

I’ve always been non-confrontational.  I avoid conflict like the plague.  It makes me physically ill to be involved in arguments, even if not directed at me.  That’s actually one reason I left my previous job.  Even online I avoid arguing with people.

Especially the trolls . . .

According to Wikipedia, “a troll is someone who posts inflammatory, extraneous, or off-topic messages in an online community, such as a forum, chat room, or blog, with the primary intent of provoking readers into an emotional response or of otherwise disrupting normal on-topic discussion“.

If you’ve spent any time online you’ve almost certainly met them.  Unfortunately they aren’t only found in teh interwebs.  Trolls can be found anywhere there is controversy.  Especially on the issue of gun control.  They try to incite anger and rage in an attempt to make you (and your supporters) look like a fool.  They feed on your fury.

I decided to talk about this after I came across a post over on Common Sense T & P.  Their post was made after they read this article over at Armed Lutheran.  Basically, the original article is discussing why we need to bring up the issue of guns with people everywhere possible, and proper methods for dealing with individuals who drift from the normal rules of debate.

If your intention is to be an evangelist for gun rights, bring stats, common sense and a hard hat, because you’re going to get plenty of abuse. You will be accused of caring more about guns than children, caring more about gun company profits than about public safety, or thinking you’re Rambo. That’s the tame stuff. More likely you’ll be called crazy, moron, idiot, extremist. You’ll be accused of killing kids or owning guns to compensate for small genitalia. (Pounding Nails, 2/18/13).

If you’ve followed my blog for a while you may have heard me repeatedly say not to resort to name calling.  That’s one of my key points when promoting guns and dealing with those in favor of gun control.  Its also the very first point on the article’s list of “Friendly Advice”:

  • Avoid Name-Calling
  • Avoid Cliches
  • Avoid Politics
  • Correct Every Error
  • Avoid Bravado
  • Have Your Facts Handy

Basically, stick to the facts.  If you stick to what is known to be true, with facts to back you up, you can do wonders.  But all that falls apart when confronted with a troll.  Just remember to stay cool and brush their attacks off.  But whatever you do, don’t give them what they want.  Don’t argue with them.  Don’t sink to their level.

Comments
  1. rmactsc says:

    Don’t let the trolls get to you. I really enjoy your blog and it seems like you are developing a good number of subscribers. I try to avoid arguing with people who I know; have ideas that are so philosophically different than mine, that it’s a waste of time and effort to even engage them in conversation on any controversial topic.

    • nvchad2 says:

      Thanks for your support. You’ve been here pretty much from day one offering tips and suggestions and I appreciate that. And they don’t get to me anymore because I avoid them. I used to argue but it stressed me out too much. Now I have calm, friendly debates with people over gun issues whenever I can. 🙂

  2. […] more good reads on arguing with anti-gun people (and winning). Here and here. […]

Leave a Reply

