Lack of Gun Safety in “The Bounty Hunter”

Posted: February 20, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I avoided this movie for a long time because the plot left me shaking my head from the first time I saw a trailer.  A bounty hunter is sent to bring in his ex-wife who has a warrant out against her.  But it was a Saturday and nothing else was on so I figured why not?

The movie wasn’t terrible but I still never came around to liking the story.  The actors all seemed to do fine but one thing really bothered me was the way Gerard Butler handled his pistol throughout the movie.  Whether he was actively shooting it, sneaking around looking for the bad guys, or simply waving it around to show he had it, his finger was always on the trigger.  Even when he had no intention of using it he still had his finger on the trigger.

For a character who was once a member of the police force, this is really bad and should’ve been addressed during filming.  Trigger discipline is one of the biggest issues in firearm safety.  Anyone who has taken a course in safety or firearms use in general has almost certainly heard to “keep your finger off the trigger until you are ready to fire”.  A majority of accidental discharges come from inadvertently squeezing the trigger.

Nothing against Gerard Butler himself, I think he’s a great actor, but this movie sets a terrible example for anyone who hasn’t handled a gun before.  Any director who let’s something like this slip through needs to examine their work harder.  If Butler’s character had been a plumber or teacher (I’m not putting down these professions at all) I probably would’ve overlooked it as a character flaw.  But he was a former police officer.  That would be like having a movie where a former chef accidentally under-cooks chicken and poisons someone . . .

I really wish Hollywood would try harder on movies sometimes.  Especially with such simple things.  Another movie with gun-related mistakes was I Am Legend; those problems could’ve been fixed pretty easily as well. Anyone else ever notice a mistake in a movie?  Let me know about it in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

