My Favorite Gun-Toting Video Games

Posted: January 27, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I get sick of the media and gun rights advocates trying to push the blame for gun violence onto video games.  I’ve played games my entire life and I own 5 firearms.  I’ve yet to do anything violent in my life.  A lot of people even say I’m too much of a pacifest.

Well just to spite those hating on gun related video games, I’m posting a list of all my favorite games (in no particular order) that feature extensive firearms use.  Let me know in the comments what some of your favorites are.

1)  Medal of Honor (the games from the original WWII series) – These are the games that hooked me on first person shooter games.  Storming the beach on D-Day, fighting the Japanese in the Pacific, these were just awesome games.  You got to take the role of a member of the Allies and fight against members of the Axis with a variety of weapons from the time period.

2)  Call of Duty – The original games were set in WWII, and I’ve always loved that time period. The new games are still great though, especially the online multiplayer. Nothing better than signing in and competing against a group of fellow gamers.  Real people elevate the competition far higher than AI ever could.

3)  Grand Theft Auto – I started playing Grand Theft Auto 3 on the PS2 years ago.  I was far underage for a game that centered on mafia life.  Guns, drugs, murder, these are the exact things that those against video games and guns point to.  I’ve logged hundreds of hours in Liberty City and just as many in that tropical island known as Vice City.  And even a few as a gang member in San Andreas.  Carjacking people and trying to outrun the cops as long as possible was always one of my favorite personal challenges in each of the games.

4)  Duke Nukem 3D – This game was fantastic.  I spent many hours playing on the N64 with my friends.  The campaign was great but the best part was playing co-op against the bots.  Setting up trip mines while trying to hold a room as long as possible, all the while listening to Duke’s entertaining commentary.  Not appropriate for children, but I turned out just fine.

5)  GoldenEye 007 – I never owned this game but a friend of mine did.  The N64 was awesome as a kid.  The controller with 3 grips always confused me but the games were fun.  And the poor graphics did nothing to slow the gameplay.  GoldenEye 007 is the “third best selling Nintendo 64 game” according to its Wikipedia page.  I was never good at the multiplayer (probably because I didn’t get to play often) but it was fun to play regardless.

6)  Syphon Filter – This was the first game I ever played on the Playstation.  My step dad had it when he first moved in and he eventually started letting me play now and then.  I wasn’t good but I was only 10 or so at the time.  The game centered on stealth and as a result I always had a tough time playing, but it was great regardless.

7)  Killzone – The first game in the series was the only one I liked, but when it came out it was one of my favorite games to play single player.  The campaign was fantastic.  Fighting against the Helghast (Once-human beings that have became altered and stronger) on a foreign planet with an arsenal of futuristic weaponry might sound like a Halo game, but it’s not.  This was PS2’s “console specific” flagship.  Sony never had many games that were specific to their consoles, but this was one of the best in my opinion.

8)  Fallout – Set in a post apocalyptic alternative future, you play as a survivor trying to find your place and settle the violence that consumes everything around you.  The only two games from the series that I have played are Fallout 3 and Fallout: New Vegas.  I prefer 3 over New Vegas but I really like both games.  There was a healthy variety of armor and weaponry from the past, present, and future.  Being able to choose your own path in the story was also pretty exciting.

That’s all I can really think of right now.  I know I’ve played other great gun games, but the ones above stand out in my mind.  These are the games that hooked me.  I’ve been a gamer my whole life and I don’t see that changing any time in the future.  And before you go saying I am advocating for children to play such games, I am not.  It’s up to parents to determine when their child is old enough and mature enough to play games like these.  I probably shouldn’t have played the games I played when I was so young, but I don’t see how its had any adverse effect on my life whatsoever.

And on top of that, I’m a very friendly person and law abiding citizen.  Sure, I speed now and then when I’m trying to get to work, but I don’t think it was Grand Theft Auto that caused that.  I have also shot a few thousand rounds of ammo through my 5 firearms, and none were ever endangering another human being.  I am a very responsible gun owner.  Safety is extremely important to me.  I make sure that every person who handles my guns knows exactly how to operate them safely.

I’ve probably murdered several hundred thousand people in cold blood during my video game rampages.  And just as many on the battlefields of WWII.  But I do not approve of killing another human being.  There is a distinct different between killing a video game character and killing a living breathing person.  Nothing the media tells me will ever change my mind on that.  It’s only people who have no morals who think it’s ok to kill an innocent person.  Those people would still find it ok if they hadn’t been playing video games.

Let me know how you feel about this subject.  I’m interested to hear what others have to say.

Leave a Reply

