A New Rifle

Posted: January 1, 2013 in Guns, SKS
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well its official.  I’m now the proud owner of a Chinese Type 56 SKS rifle.  This particular rifle was made in 1969 and is beautiful.  Looks brand new.  If you’ve read some of my previous posts you may remember this one.  It belonged to my friend Aaron.

He was back in town for Christmas and New Years so we got together to shoot it.  We didn’t shoot it on our last outng because I didn’t think it was in working order, but after cleaning it up and examining it further, it was in perfect shape.  I actually think it had never been shot.

We shot it in my backyard, snow and all.  My first experience with the 7.62x39mm cartride was a good one.  The rifle didn’t kick at all and was actually considerably quieter than either of my other rifles.

We didn’t have the magazines that went with it (Aaron forgot to bring them) so we had to shoot it single shot.  I’m certain that if we would’ve had the magazines it would’ve functioned perfectly.  It was slinging the brass like 30 feet away and none of the rounds jammed.

The Tula ammunition that we were shooting performed as well as the Tula .223 that I normally use in my other rifles.  In my first four shots, all were within an inch or two from the bullseye, and I had never shot the rifle before.  I think the really smooth trigger pull had something to do with the accuracy.  None of the triggers on any of the guns I have are anywhere close to that smooth.  You barely have to touch trigger to fire it and there’s almost no slack at all.

I’m excited to have this rifle because from what I’ve seen, 7.62 ammo is still available.  Even the Tula which is priced about the same as the .223 Tula.  Not locally but online.  Several dealers had some available when I last checked.

I look forward to shooting this thing again sometime soon.  I was worried about how 2013 would be, what with all the weapons ban talk, but so far it looks like 2013 is off to a good start.

Comments
  1. rmactsc says:

    Congrats on your new rifle. I have a Yugo SKS from the 1950’s. I replaced the wooden stock with a synthetic one, added a scope mount rail and a 3-9×40 scope and also added a screw on flash hider to the barrel. I removed the attached magazine and opted for a Tapco removable 20 round magazine system. The SKS rifles are excellent and are a lot of fun to modify. Enjoy yours. Also keep in mind the Yugo SKS ejects upwards instead ofout to the side so if you mount a scope you also need to mount a thin, sheet metal shell deflector between the scope and the ejection port to prevent the scope from being dinged up and coming out of zero.

    • nvchad2 says:

      Thanks for the advice. I’m pretty sure this SKS has a removable 30 round mag. Looks like AK mags but I’m not sure. Haven’t seen them for a few months. Aaron is bringing them to me today so I’ll know more later today. And I bought a synthetic stock for mine as well, though I don’t intend to use it for a while. The wooden stock on this one is in fantastic condition and I kinda want to leave it on there for now. Just figured I should buy a tactical stock for it before the anti-gun crowd makes it illegal to buy one.

Leave a Reply

