West Side – Saturday 12-1-12

Posted: December 2, 2012 in AR-15, Guns, Mini-14, Other Peoples' Guns
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Over the weekend I decided to do some shooting and try to record some of it.  Until now I had no videos of me shooting my guns at all.  I figured I would take this time to try my hand at a series of videos on Youtube.  The video is posted and you can watch it over HERE if you are interested.  It’s less than 6 minutes long and if you skip the parts where I’m talking it’s probably only about 2.

If you don’t want to watch the video you can just keep reading.

Aaron left his Mini-14 with me when he went back for the semester because it wasn’t working correctly.  The gas block had become lose and the bushing had fallen out into the stock itself.  It took me all of about 5 minutes to fix it and I took it with me to the range, along with my rifles, to test fire it.

I shot 40 rounds (2 magazines) through it and it functioned beautifully.  It did feel like it had more kick than my Mini but I think that might just be because his stock is much lighter than my Strikeforce stock.  I had less trouble keeping my rifle on target while shooting at a decent pace.  His was bouncing a lot.  His however does have better iron sights which made initial target acquisition a little faster.

The AR15 worked like a champ as always.  I put a couple magazines of .223 through it before dropping in the CMMG conversion kit and unloading 100 rounds (4 magazines) of 22lr.  You should definitely watch the video, even if only to see the conversion kit in action.  Its one thing for me to write about it a bunch, but seeing how this thing shoots is pretty neat.  The only thing better I guess would be actually shooting it yourself.

I met some nice people at the range; a few were even from my area.  The guy who was set up beside me had a virtual armory.  He had around 4 or 5 pistols, I think 2 rifles, and a shotgun or two.  He was a little bit reckless with his shooting but he was fun to watch.  We talked a bit and he even let me shoot his Remington Versa Max shotgun.  That thing was awesome.  It held 9 shells and fired as fast as you could pull the trigger.  He demonstrates this in the last segment of my video.  If I ever win the lottery, I’m getting one.

I don’t really have much to add beyond that.  I didn’t track my groups or anything like that this time.  I was mostly focused on getting decent videos and having fun.  Subscribe if you like my blog and I hope everyone has a good week.

Leave a Reply

