Excellent Gift Idea

Posted: November 19, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My coworker came to me today and showed off his new Gerber knife and multi-tool that he bought over the weekend.  It was an impressive pair of tools.  So impressive that while I was at Walmart today buying food to keep at work I decided to pick one up for myself.

I’m not a knife guy.  A lot of times people who are into guns are also really into knives.  I’ve never been into knives and I still am not.  I’ve always carried a basic pocket knife for daily use at work and around the house but I’m not one of those guys with a knife in every room and on every belt.  But since my current knife of three years was getting old and dull and falling apart I figured I could justify replacing it.

I have to say that this is definitely the sharpest knife that I have ever owned, in both blade work and appearance.  The blade on this thing is sharp enough that i’m certain I could cut through just about anything with it.  The silver and black compliment one another nicely and it’s just great all around.

image

The multi-tool, while similarly attractive in appearance, is not nearly as nice in function.  It’s clear that when you buy this package deal you’re basically getting the multi-tool for free.  That said, it’s still better than not having one so I’ll be carrying it until i get a better one (probably not for a few years though).  It tends to pinch a lot and it’ll take me a while to get used to opening and closing and using it safely.

Overall this is a great item that I think almost any male (and some females!) would be happy to receive.  Plus the price is very attractive if you’re looking for that one last gift to get someone.  For $20 (plus tax) you get a good looking, extremely sharp knife, and small, pocket sized multi-tool.  Both are conveniently packaged in a silver and black metal tin.

image

**  Please ignore my reflection in the tin.  My phone doesn’t take the best pictures **

 

Comments
  1. […] in a small container?  I would personally toss in a small multi-tool like the one I talk about here.  Many uses all in one small package.  I’m sure there are plenty of small items we could […]

  2. […] multi tool.  Something like what I mention over here would probably be perfect.  Keep in mind most quality multi tools are kinda […]

Leave a Reply

