I Am Legend (Movie) Errors

Posted: October 14, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

So my fiance and I were watching I Am Legend last night and a few errors came to my attention right away when I saw them.  The only ones I really caught were gun related.  I checked IMDB and there are a lot of little errors that in no way made the movie less enjoyable (It’s one of our favorite movies).

**  There may be spoilers ahead  **

One of the errors I noticed was during a scene inside Neville’s (Will Smith) house where he shoots his rifle until it is out of ammunition.  When he empties his magazine, the rifle clicks three or four times.  I presume the sound they were showing was the hammer falling on an empty chamber.  The sound shouldn’t happen at all since the bolt catch holds the chamber open, indicating there is no more rounds to be fired.

That one was listed on IMDB.  It was noted that “an AR-15 type weapon will not click when the magazine runs empty. The bolt carrier group will lock to the rear holding the hammer down; pulling the trigger has no further effect.”

The other mistake I noticed was not on the list over at IMDB.

During the scene where Neville sees Fred, the mannequin, standing in a place where he shouldn’t be, he begins to lose it a bit.  He ends up shooting Fred.  In the process he rapidly fires about 20 rounds at Fred.  After a moment of grief at the loss of Fred, he begins to randomly fire toward the buildings on both sides of him.  He ends up shooting about 20 more rounds, without having reloaded at all.  It’s really hard to count the shots since they’re fired so quickly, so I might be wrong in my numbers but it sure seems like more than 30 rounds to me.

Maybe he was using a 40 round mag (do those exist?).  Maybe some of the shots were overlapped in the editing.  I just don’t know, but it feels like there were too many shots.  Nobody else seems to mention this, even though they catch much smaller mistakes that I wouldn’t notice even after reading about them.

Let me know if I’m wrong.  Let me know if you’ve ever caught a mistake in a movie that nobody else has.

Comments
  1. hncook4 says:

    I have to say that I never noticed how many times he shot. I guess I need a lesson with guns. 😀

  2. […] sometimes.  Especially with such simple things.  Another movie with gun-related mistakes was I Am Legend; those problems could’ve been fixed pretty easily as well. Anyone else ever notice a mistake […]

Leave a Reply

