Ammo Shortage

Posted: October 8, 2012 in .223 / 5.56
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

 So after the weekend shooting, I’m completely out of ammunition.  I talked with Ryan and we decided that we should buy some bulk ammo and try to have it shipped here before the end of the week so that we can shoot again before he goes back to the Guard.

That was a great plan…until I went online.

Last year the brand was readily available everywhere.  Apparently this is a terrible time to buy ammo.  All the places I usually buy from are on backorder.  The only place that I could find the TulAmmo that I usually buy were sites that charge way more than I’m used to paying.  On my lunch break today I’ll be going by both of our local Walmarts to buy all the 20 round boxes that they have in stock.  That’s assuming they have any.

 Maybe it’s become a lot more popular since then.  Guess I should’ve stocked up when I had the chance.  There were a few places that were offering the Wolf ammo for pretty much the same price I normally buy the Tula for.  I’m just worried about buying that stuff, especially in bulk.  All my experience with it has been bad. I know from reading online that some of the Wolf comes from a factory that also produces Tula. I’m assuming what I shot wasn’t the same as the Tula since it didn’t seem as good.

That being said, I didn’t shoot very much of it so I guess I could’ve just had a bad few boxes.  Maybe while I’m at Walmart, I’ll buy a box or two of Wolf and see if I can do a test of it to see how it matches up to what I’ve been shooting.

Comments
  1. rmactsc says:

    I have had good results with both the wolf labeled brand and the Tula labeled brand.

    • nvchad2 says:

      Thanks for the comment. Glad to hear both brands work well. I’m still looking forward to testing them all side by side in the future but I haven’t had many opportunities to shoot my 223’s lately.

  2. Walter says:

    Wolf, Tula, Hertners, etc, all the current / modern steel cased Russian ammo is mostly from the same factory. You’ll get a small percentage of any of them that don’t shoot as well. I have shot thousands of rounds of all through my M4. Right now they are all gold.

    • nvchad2 says:

      Thanks for your comment. I’ve noticed different stamping on some of the cases, but for the most part they do seem to have the same markings. All have been shooting very well for me though.

Leave a Reply

