Good Day to Paint

Posted: March 10, 2013 in AR-15, Guns
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It was beautiful outside today.  Its hard to believe that just earlier this week, we received between 15 and 20 inches of snow.  Today it was 65 out and the sun was shining.  Unfortunately there are still areas that are covered with snow, and those that aren’t, are just big mud holes.  Shooting wasn’t really an option.

As I mentioned in a post the other day I was waiting for a warm day to paint my rifle’s handguard.  Today I did it.  I went to the store and bought myself some Krylon Fusion gloss white paint, came home, disassembled my rifle, and started painting.  I enjoyed every minute of it.

The paint says on the can that it dries in 15 minutes or less and that is no lie.  Each coat I put on was dry to the touch in less than 5 minutes.  I painted my handguard, two of my 22lr magazines, and my pistol grip in less than 20 minutes.  I reassembled my rifle, sat back, and admired the results.  I am very pleased with how this turned out.

Black and White AR15

25 and 10 round 22lr magazines

25 and 10 round 22lr magazines

Paint blends in perfect with all that snow

Paint blends in perfect with all that snow!

Sitting on the fence post to dry

Sitting on the fence post to dry

So what do you think?  Did I do a good job? Or does it look stupid?  You can say whatever you want about it, I love it.  And I don’t see that changing.  But I always like to hear what people think about my guns.

Comments
  1. rmactsc says:

    Very nice job. Have you thought about doing one in woodland camo?

    • nvchad2 says:

      Thanks. If I had another AR, probably. But I’ve honestly never been a green camo kinda guy. If I hunted at all, this would probably be a whole different conversation. I certainly see the benefits of realistic camo.

  2. brian says:

    Looks Great! I did white inlay on my Aero lower and it really made it pop.

    • nvchad2 says:

      Yea, I thought about doing an inlay as well, but I’m not sure how to do that. I’m sure a quick google search could point me in the right direction though. And thanks for the compliment. Glad not everyone hates it. :)

  3. livetoseetomorrow says:

    That looks good its makes the gun look more futuristic, badass

    • nvchad2 says:

      I think this is my favorite comment so far. Thanks for the compliment. :)

      • livetoseetomorrow says:

        No problem man keep up the good work what kind of ar is that?

      • nvchad2 says:

        Custom build. I list all the parts I used over on the MY GUNS page. Not trying to avoid the question and pass you along, the truth is, without checking the list myself, I just can’t remember all those parts and pieces! haha. I do know the barrel is Del-Ton and it has a DPMS lower parts kit.

  4. [...] some of you voted that what I did to my rifle was crazy . . . These guys camouflage their rifle using fake spray snow.  I personally think it looks [...]

  5. [...]  But I think a lot of people choose camo like I do, just because they like it.  That’s why my AR15 is black and white.  Camo is as much about personalization as it is functionality.  Our firearms are an extension [...]

Leave a Reply

